Green School News – November

This November, the Green Schools Committee will be applying for the Litter and Waste Green Flag. The committee comprises of students from each year and our  teachers Ms Fitzpatrick, Ms Jordan, Ms Gurney, Ms Nolan and Mr Mc Grath.


Having carried out a litter review in the school, the committees have found that one of the main areas of concern for our school is the amount of waste disposable plastic bottles left in the classrooms as and general school sub-committees that are responsible for Publicity, Website information and a Litter & Waste audit committee. The Committee meets on behalf of the student Green School on a weekly basis to discuss progress. The Student’s Council is also kept informed and involved in our activities. Our caretakers are also helping these committees.

As a result, the committees have decided to run a ‘Design Your Own Bottle’ competition. There will be a range of prizes for the best-designed bottles. In order to enter this competition, students will be asked to purchase a ‘BPA Free bottle’ from the committee, and they will be asked to create and decorate their own individual bottle in a design of their choice.
The committees are also going to display the amount of disposable plastic bottles that are generated as waste throughout the school in just one week, and the affects these disposable bottles are having on our environment. There will also be audits conducted on the levels of recycling within the school and  they will report their findings.

The Green Schools Committee Members:
Jennifer Mannion

Publicity Committee               Website Committee                         Audit Team
Leader: Emma Kenny                      Leader: Maria Olivia Pidlaoan           Leader: Magdalena Grochola
Aisling Dowd                                       Caoimhe Gormley                                   Patricia Sweeney
Leah Fahy                                             Kiara Dunleavy                                        Emma Cuddy
Saoirse Hession                                  Jade Cotter                                                Kate Connelly
Szonja Ilyes                                         Aoife  Maloney                                         Charlene Maloney
Nadine Egan                                        Clara Muller                                               Melissa Carowl
Caoimhe Gormley